Need Help, 500i issues

Shanesaw80

Tree Assassin
Local time
11:35 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hey guys I’m hoping someone can give me some insight into what may be happening.

I have a friend of mine who is working in northern Ontario at the moment, extremely cold weather and the trees are loaded with snow. They have 6 500i’s on the program and none are running at the moment. 5 of them have less then 10 tanks of gas through them.

Basically what he’s telling me is that they won’t start and are flooding themselves, everyone of them. At first he thought maybe they were all frozen but he had them in a heated building for a day and they still won’t run. Take out the plug, extremely wet, dry it off and put it back in. A couple pulls and it will fire but die immediately and then just completely flood itself again. He’s tried everything that he can’t think of but nothing has worked and I have very little experience with these saws.

And before anyone mentions getting it diagnosed he’s 12hrs from the closest dealer. Any help on what could be the potential cause would be great. Thanks!!

Stump Shot

Disciple of Monkey's
GoldMember
Local time
12:35 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I'm no 500i expert by any stretch of the imagination, but a couple things come to mind.
One, try and start and run it at full wide open throttle and see if it will run long enough to tune itself right again.
Two, find the place that controls the fuel entering the injector and give it a light tap with a screwdriver handle or some such thing(non destructive like) and see if it gets unstuck.
As all I can comprehend is it's either being told to give too much fuel for some unknown reason, or it's a mechanical failure of the injector controller as in dirt, frost etc. keeping it stuck open.
Good luck with your diagnosis and hopefully someone with more direct details will come along to help.

huskihl

Muh fingers look really big
GoldMember
Local time
1:35 AM
User ID
Reaction score