High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

stihl vs. husky

nightwolf1974

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
9:10 PM
User ID
Reaction score
this fall i have a contracted job that requires some serious cutting with a chainsaw. i'm not really a pro with a saw, but i can use them. i have to buy a "good" saw for this job. this job alone will more than pay for the saw i buy.
i've narrowed it down to a stihl ms 311 20" and a husky 455 20". i know both are good saws. but is one better than the other?
any info would be helpful.

TreeLife

I'm Dominick
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Skip the home owner saws and buy a pro saw. You wont regret it, either brand as well as dolmar/makita have excellent offerings. There are some echo models that are also fantastic, a 620 comes to mind. I also dig my Jonsered.

I guess what I'm saying is...have an open mind to brand and model :)

Onan18

OPE Sponsor
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
this fall i have a contracted job that requires some serious cutting with a chainsaw. i'm not really a pro with a saw, but i can use them. i have to buy a "good" saw for this job. this job alone will more than pay for the saw i buy.
i've narrowed it down to a stihl ms 311 20" and a husky 455 20". i know both are good saws. but is one better than the other?

Of the two you listed I would buy the 455 simply because unless you straight gas one they are basically unbreakable. I would however tend to agree that a Pro saw would be a better long term investment, 562XP/2260 is a great lifetime saw.

dall

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Of the two you listed I would buy the 455 simply because unless you straight gas one they are basically unbreakable. I would however tend to agree that a Pro saw would be a better long term investment, 562XP/2260 is a great lifetime saw.
wheres the dislike button

Stump Shot

Disciple of Monkey's
GoldMember
Local time
8:10 PM
User ID