wildroamer

Winning!
Local time
7:33 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hi gang,

Getting ahead of myself, but thinking about the Solo 681 P/C kit on the 665. If my plan is simply a swap, no porting, do you guys think I need to worry about measuring squish?

I know it is not an enormous undertaking, but it would require me to buy a few things, calipers, solder, etc. I'm just wondering if I really need to bother. It seems that slapping the gasket that came with the kit on, bolting the sucker up, and running it would be fine.

Thoughts? As a novice, I am thinking that the only reason I would be concerned with squish is if I was contemplating a gasket-less install, in an attempt to squeeze the most power from the saw.

What am I missing?

jmssaws

Banneded
Local time
6:33 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Squish is super easy to check and I wouldn't get hung up trying to achieve the perfect number. Don't go extremely tight and it will be fine.

wildroamer

Winning!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have seen, read, etc enough to feel fairly confident in that. Just don't want to add more work and expense if it's not going to change my install at all.

Top end came with the one gasket...

wildroamer

Winning!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Thanks, I was rooting for an answer like yours! :biggrin:

Marshy

WFO Cutting
Local time
User ID
Reaction score