High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Racing pistons - At what level?

Tinkerer Carver

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
7:50 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Hello all, through the endless browsing for parts I have come across the racing pistons through CCC and Dominant Saw. I understand that the race pistons come with weight savings, better castings, etc, but I have one question. Seeing as I am still a saw builder with much to learn, my question is: what level of a saw build is needed to justify/see improvements from a racing piston? Any info is appreciated, thanks.

jakethesnake

I Am The Snake
Local time
8:50 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hello all, through the endless browsing for parts I have come across the racing pistons through CCC and Dominant Saw. I understand that the race pistons come with weight savings, better castings, etc, but I have one question. Seeing as I am still a saw builder with much to learn, my question is: what level of a saw build is needed to justify/see improvements from a racing piston? Any info is appreciated, thanks.
I’m not a porter nor do I even know how to port. My opinion is those pistons are for racing.

what I’m saying is that 10th of a second doesn’t make a lot of difference just cutting wood. I think more folks would use them in regular builds if the gain they offered made exponentially faster machines.

I’m only answering with an opinion since no one has really spoken up just yet.

jakethesnake

I Am The Snake
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
In other words if I built a saw and tried to port it and add a racing slug. These gentlemen that build saws would smoke me running an oem piston because the porting itself would be more beneficial than me trying to add extras

Nutball

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag