Comparing 3 different semi chisel chains

Squish9

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
4:33 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
This all started when I was looking at a few semi chisel chains and wondered if their shape has much effect on how they work. I should start by say my idea of what makes a good chain has changed since I started playing with these. Turns out I don't really care about cut speed all that much, having a chain that doesn't fight me every step of the way is much more important. With that out the way here goes, all chains are 3/8, 058, 72DL.

Left to right,

Stihl 35RM
Husqvarna S85
Oregon 73DX

PXL_20240612_050857876.PORTRAIT~2.jpg

Cut speed

This is the average of 4 cuts each in the same log

S85 = 15.9
RM = 17.8
73DX = 18.7

Durability

All are good but the Oregon is the stand out here. Very tolerant of hitting dirt in the wood, RM and S85 are about the same.

Sharpening

The husky chain is very nice to file, Oregon is very good as well. Stihl RM is ok but I prefer the others

Cutting, smoothness

The Oregon and husky are both fantastic to use. Great out the box and great after sharpening, just really nice to use. The Stihl RM used to be a go to favorite of mine but I had not run it back to back with something else. Its terrible compared to the other 2. Cuts rough, chatters and carries on, I really hate it now. Just a awful experience compared to the others.

Value is hard to do because they are priced different everywhere.

My conclusion is, I'll happily buy more of the Husky and Oregon. In the 6 days I was cutting I used the RM twice, once for the test and again after sharpening it to see if I could make it work better, it was still crap to use and is like new in the box.

For a comparison on cut speed VS full chisel, new husky C85 cuts 13% faster than the S85 in the hardwoods I cut but the semi will hold that speed for 4-5 tanks. C85 drops off rapidly here needing a touch up every tank.

Farmchuck

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
2:33 AM