2511t: Four years on the truck

Ketchup

Epoxy member
Local time
4:34 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Here’s some discussion of the 2511t I’ve been using at work for the last 4 years. I did minimal mods to it before putting it into service. Hopefully it gives people an idea of how these saws hold up over time.

Fair warning, there aren’t going to be many pretty pictures in this thread. Lots of chainsaw funk.
I’ve stripped this saw down to the block about once per year and cleaned it.

IMG_0959.jpeg
Obviously it needs it again.
IMG_0962.jpeg
That’s probably the 4th or 5th tank vent and this one is shot. I wish they lasted longer.
IMG_0967.jpeg

Same deal on the caps. That’s at least the third pair. I have had the oil cap pop off in the tree many times. The keeper gets into the threads easily and gets cut. This oil cap is leaking.

Ketchup

Epoxy member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Clutch side:
IMG_0961.jpeg
Although this clutch is useable the guide tabs on the back of the shoes are breaking. Two more fell off after this photo. I blame this on using an impact driver to remove and install.
IMG_0965.jpeg
Oiler gear is still working, but it’s pretty rashed up. It’s original.

Oiler and lines aren’t notably degraded.IMG_0982.jpeg
Rear AV looks good on this saw but I have seen plenty of others where the spring is bent and plastics worn away.IMG_0983.jpeg
1/4” clutch drum and muffler mod that I installed when I bought the saw.
IMG_0981.jpeg

Last edited:

Ketchup

Epoxy member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Carb box:
Rubber bits all fine, original primer bulb is fine. Lanyard ring undamaged.
IMG_0985.jpeg

Definitely some fines in the original modded filter. I guess I forgot to grease the ring last time.IMG_0966.jpeg
Original carb and spark plug still functional. Carb performance seems to be headed down hill.IMG_0989.jpeg