rogue60

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
8:04 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Old school sucks lol
Stuffing around with some baby chain I thought I'd try my dad's old chain breakers I've never used them before.
They are all he ever used as a cutter years ago he would have a roll of chain in his ute and just make up a chain in the bush when needed it would only take him a few minutes to make a chain I should have paid more attention of how he was so fast at it.
I don't have the right punch set there is two. One breaks the link and the other rounds the new rivet over.
I'll call in to see him and see if he still has the punches with the wright
punches I think it will be easy to do.
20200507_210743.jpg

He got the one on the left and the one in middle a long time ago I'd say late 70's early 80's when he was working as a cutter running 090's logging big old Aussie hardwoods for the mills back then.
I'm not sure he might have gotten the middle one custom made I'll ask him when I see him.
20200507_214421.jpg

rogue60

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I use a Dremel to grind some of the head off before breaking. It comes apart much easier. If you are careful you can save the tie strap without bending it.
Yeah after a few goes at it on this baby chain I got the grinder out lol
My dad used to punch 404 out easy no grinding I'll have to ask him what the trick is
only punches I've seen for em on ebay so far are Chinese made can only emagine how rubbish that steel is.

CR888

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
9:04 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag