High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Cylinder Plating by US Chrome - Where can I find a "dealer"?

7jp4-guy

Active OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
3:37 AM
User ID
Reaction score
All -
I am a new member of this forum, but I have been working on engines since I was about ten years old. I I am an electronics engineer by day, but enjoy getting to work on engines in my off hours. Not everything that I fix is really "worth fixing" but I enjoy the challenge of getting a basket case running again.

As part of my current project, I am trying to get a scored cylinder re-plated. The trouble is that it is a blind bore and after having reached out to every Nikasil plating shop I can find, it appears that only US Chrome will do blind bores. Unfortunately, they are adamant that they will only talk to "dealers" and I can't find a list of dealers that they work with. I tried calling them and the lady I got on the phone was rather rude and would only say I should talk to "my local shop." This appears to be a new policy as I already reached out to Lee H on this forum and he was very helpful (thank you!) but said that he hadn't worked with US Chrome recently and hadn't had this problem in the past.

Has anyone here recently worked with US Chrome? If so, can you please recommend to me what "dealer" you worked with? Or better yet, maybe someone on this forum is a US Chrome dealer?

Finally, yes, I know that the plating will cost me somewhere in the ballpark of $250 -$350, and yes, I am more than happy to spend that much on this project.

Thanks in advance,
Matthew D'Asaro
www.dasarodesigns.com

Steve

Excellence!
GoldMember
Local time
5:37 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
No help from me but your business is pretty neat. Nice website too.

What is your secret project? Inquiring minds must know! :D

And Welcome! :beer-toast1:

farminkarman

I like the red & black ones
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
All -