Price for a Stihl 056 AV?

JedediahJake

OPE Member
Local time
1:48 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Good morning all. Brand new to the forum, so I hope I'm posting properly.

I have the opportunity to purchase a Stihl 056 AV and I would like some advice on a proper price. My neighbor's dad passed away last year and it was his saw. My neighbor is a good dude, so I don't expect any slight of hand, but I would still like to know what to look for, etc. when examining the saw. I haven't had my eyes on it yet, he should be bringing it over from the family farm in a week or so. It is my understanding it runs well, etc. Also...it may be a Mag II, but he wasn't sure...how can I tell if it is or not?

I'm not a newbie to chainsaws, but I am new to big saws. I have a Stihl 461 with a 36" bar I picked up a couple years ago and started milling my own oak since I had so much big oak dying on my property. The intent of the 056 would be to utilize it for milling. From what I've read, it's supposed to be a great saw for that, but would like your opinions on it as well.

Thank you for you time and thank you for having this forum available. Sincerely appreciated.

Blessings,
-Jake

Stihlalltheway

Super OPE Member
Local time
12:48 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Start it up and let it get hot, if it dies and loses spark chances are the coil is bad, they’re kind of weak and not available new, depending which coil it is it can be fixed though. Other than that the mag II should have a triple port muffler I believe, best way to tell would be measure the bore being as a muffler isn’t hard to swap and with older saws it’s fair to say a lot of parts have been changed over their lifetime. If it’s all good and in decent shape, I would personally pay $3-400

JedediahJake

OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Awesome, thank you, really appreciate it.

toolmaker

Super OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag