CBN Wheels - which one?

kielbasa

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
8:33 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hi guys - I've been sharpening with my super jolly for the past several months and would like to try CBN wheels to learn how they perform.
Main questions: is there a particular brand that is better than others, or are they all basically "the same"?

I've done approximately 100 chains so far and really don't have any complaints with the wheels my grinder came with, just looking to broaden my horizons - thanks for any info!

kielbasa

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
wow, a while ago these were all the rage - now it seems like no love for CBN???

Farmchuck

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
9:33 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
How are the Borazon wheels I’ve heard of in comparison?

Michpatriot

Super OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
There are different grits in cbn\borzon, the wheels sold by diamond wheel Inc seem to be great for polishing.. Not quick removal of rocked out teeth. Old timer who works a old Stihl repair shop showed me his wheels and they do cut, they seem to be about 60 grit and the ones from the aforementioned DWI are like 120grit even though they claim 80grit..they exchanged a wheel for me with the excuse that sometimes the grit don't stick out of the binder that holds it to the wheel..fair enough but the second wheel had the same surface and didn't cut worth beans either..so I got a refund on the who!e deal..now old timer gets his wheels coated locally for a hundred bucks and eventually ill probably try one but I need a blank wheel to have it coated...ill be a while wearing out my Stihl gray stones..maybe one-day ill look into it again.

kielbasa

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
well, my friend is going to let me try his Foley wheel...