461 with a bit of modding

Wonkydonkey

Plastic member
Local time
8:49 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
well guys, I’ve finally got round to modding my ms461... just a little bit as I’m new to playing with a real oem cylinder. And also can’t wake the locals up with a saw with no baffles
Here’s two vids, 18”bar and a 25” bar in some beach wood. I'll post some more tomorrow (well later as it nearly 1am here)
Cheeers

Wonkydonkey

Plastic member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I'm pretty slack at recording things, but I’ve been into it twice now. So I do have some pic,s

The first time I took some timing numbers, and looked at the trans, what was going on here, when they made it. At first it thought a blind drunk person made it, cos of the slanty trans. Then I remembered that mastermind said it was to do with some backsuffin or something.

So as to masterminds methods, I got a ring and popped it into the cylinder and got it to the number I wanted. I cut me some card and started grinding. I don’t have the best tools so made do with the battery drill and a diamond wheel. I was sweating. Anyways job got done (a bit rough), I widened the intake as well as cleaning up the lower trans

The exhaust got a very slight raise, and I did lower the intake a little. They then got a 80/100 grit polish.

I did try a sans gasket. Well that didn’t work, due to the squish being a tad tight. Iirc, it was 16thou.

I pulled the carb to drill the main jet, I just could not justify the #70 micro drill (0.0295) as I had not really ported it to the max. So I opted for #73 (0.0250) originally it was 0.0200, well that’s what drill size fitted in.

The saw got put back together, with the oem gasket, and a little test , about a tank full. It seemed to rip,

But I was not happy that the squish had not been set, so I tore it apart one more time. I took a. Pic of the wash on the piston. (Which I had cleaned previously)