Best Buy Co, Inc. Buy Used Saws CCC Ebay Store HLSupply Daily Deals

550xp bog off idle

Discussion in 'Chainsaws' started by Reedo, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Reedo

    Reedo Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have a 2015 550xp that recently developed a bog when you first get on the throttle. At first it was only after being started coming from high idle. Recently I have noticed it is sluggish even after letting it idle between cuts also.
    Hoping someone will chime in on what to look into to get it figured out
     
    smokey7 likes this.
  2. Reedo

    Reedo Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota
    After a quick inspection all I could see was a little soot around the decomp button. Would that be something to look into possibly? Visually everything else looks good.
     
  3. andyshine77

    andyshine77 Super OPE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Probably not the cause of the problem, but I'd plug it and see what happens. You'll first want to start off by havig the latest firmware installed. If that doesn't help the saw will probably need a new carburetor, plus an air leak test should be performed just in case. What carb is on the saw? AT 1A or 7A

    They're other things to try as well, such as lowering pop off pressure, and enlarging the air flow notch in the throttle butterfly, but I didn't find them to alleviate the issue with my saw..
     
    smokey7 likes this.
  4. srcarr52

    srcarr52 We can't stop here, th1s is bat country!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    9,488
    Trophy Points:
    392
    Location:
    Iowa City
    The 550 had a air bleed screw that can be adjusted hidden behind a plug on the air filter face of the carb. Chances are it needs just a little bit of a turn out to let more air in at idle which will allow the computer to richen the idle mixture.
     
    PA Dan, smokey7, Poleman and 5 others like this.
  5. Reedo

    Reedo Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thanks for the direction so far Andyshine and srcarr. I have talked with the dealer and he basically said he needs to hook up and see if it’s due for an update. I was just hoping someone might have other recommendations to look into in case that’s not going to solve the problem.
     
  6. andyshine77

    andyshine77 Super OPE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    That is true forgot about that, doesn't seem to always work though, at least not for me. I believe the later carbs like the 7A don't have the screw at all.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018
  7. andyshine77

    andyshine77 Super OPE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    If it's a 15 model it will definitely need a firmware update. Keep us up-to-date on what happens, I'm curious.
     
    smokey7 and Tor R like this.
  8. Derf

    Derf Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    NY
    Easiest thing is have dealer plug in, read codes and reset settings to see if it cures it. There may also be an update for the carb.

    Worst case scenario would be you need a new carb (AT12 which came out mid 2016) and a new starter.

    The 2015 should have an AT7 carb.
     
    Tor R and andyshine77 like this.
  9. Reedo

    Reedo Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Will do.
     
  10. Reedo

    Reedo Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I plan on taking it in as soon as I can. Hopefully that’s going to be today.
     
  11. longbowch

    longbowch Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Blue Grass
    I basically had the same thing. Had to get a new carb.
     
    andyshine77 likes this.
  12. CR888

    CR888 Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    5,648
    Trophy Points:
    330
    Location:
    Australia
    I 'think' its kinda funny these bog carbs develop the problem, a kit clean don't fix it, but you can sometimes improve them notching butterflies etc. I think this is a AT fuel system problem where the AT is either rich or more likely lean on the idle transition to throttle. Could be wrong but if the saw was a non AT standard carb I get the feeling a tweak of the L-speed would sort it out. Like the 540xp's that idle for extended periods and muk-up the fuel settings. PITA!
     
  13. Reedo

    Reedo Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I just left the dealer and the firmware was 3 versions behind so they updated that. Had to a order a plug for the decomp button that seems to be leaking, it has a good amount of soot built up from under the rubber skirt on down. He wanted me to try it after the update before we dig further so I just got done running a full tank through it. So far it seems way better. Doesn’t bog multiple times when trying to get on the throttle, seems to rev quicker too. It still has a slight hesitation most of the time when getting on the throttle after idle but doesn’t bog yet.
     
    CR888, smokey7, andyshine77 and 3 others like this.
  14. Huntaholic

    Huntaholic Well-Known OPE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Call me old school, but Im not having a saw that costs me 70 bucks to hook up to a damn computer! I inadvertently do own a a 576AT and if it ever starts giving me problems that I cant fix myself I will junk it. Sorry for the hijack and rant but its friggin ridiculous what saws have turned into. Ive got 4 562xps that I was planning on building back but if its gonna cost me 70 bucks to update them after building them, they will go in the junk pile too.
     
  15. Tor R

    Tor R Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    16,199
    Trophy Points:
    406
    Location:
    Mandal, Norway
    I'm a bit lucky since I can go to my dealer and plugin them carbs myself, not everyone is so lucky and have to pay for an upgrade, can understand their frustration with the AT.
    AT is a wonderful system, most of the time we can spot an airleak etc through the values or error code system.
    Sometimes I love the system, sometimes I fancy them old non AT carbs.
     
    PA Dan, pro94lt, smokey7 and 2 others like this.
  16. Poleman

    Poleman Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Rapid City,S.D.
    A little sideways question here.....Do Dealers or even some Dealers charge to hook up and to update these saws????

    Sorry to get slightly off subject.
     
    PA Dan, pro94lt, smokey7 and 2 others like this.
  17. Derf

    Derf Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    NY
    So Reedo, how much did it cost to update your firmware?
    Huntaholic, where did you hear $70 to hook up to a computer?

    The engine diagnostic cable and interface is part number 583897101

    You can buy one for about $100 and it interfaces directly with Husqvarna.com servers and provides the most up to date firmwares.
    https://www.jackssmallengines.com/jacks-parts-lookup/part/583897101

    If you have an AT saw, or MULTIPLE AT saws, it is a worthwhile investment if a hook-up costs $70. I was under the impression it would be more like $20, which you only do if/when you have a problem... might take a while to pay for itself. But if a Dealer would charge you much more than that, it starts looking attractive to just own a service kit.
     
    smokey7 and Poleman like this.
  18. andyshine77

    andyshine77 Super OPE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    The common service tool is useless without having a dealer account, you have to log on to Husqvarna's system, only dealers can do this. Yes it's absurd and will bite Husky in the ass eventually.
     
    smokey7 and Tor R like this.
  19. andyshine77

    andyshine77 Super OPE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    In my experience that hesitation often turns into a bog after awhile. If the saw in under warranty I'd personally would want an AT12 carb. Let us know how the saw runs after you put more time on it.
     
    Tor R likes this.
  20. Tor R

    Tor R Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    16,199
    Trophy Points:
    406
    Location:
    Mandal, Norway
    most dealers probleby charge, but we can do a bit ourselves like preparing the saw for it, also remove the starter cover, read of the numbers to the coil.
    If the saw is ready I think it take them ruffly 10 min to print out the codes, error codes, firmware upgrade & reset.

    we dont have the option to purchase the AT diagnose tool kit, far as I know you need to have an account at Husky (dealer account) to get the latest program updates.

    Its a shame AT saw doesnt come with a plugin system so at least their customer can print out vital information like run hours, HL levels, error codes.
     
    andyshine77 and smokey7 like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice