Going to have to climb soon need some advice

RyeThomas

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
7:22 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ok full disclosure, I cannot pay anyone, I have a big dead tree in our new to us home that has to come down. One side septic field, other is power lines. So I have to take it in pieces = climbing. Heights don’t bother me, I’m competent with a saw, I’m a Firefighter with a Technical Rescue background so I understand rope, pulleys, etc. that said I’m not an idiot and I know nothing about climbing/felling a tree from an elevated position.
So what’s a good/safe kit that’s not commercial but for a guy that needs to climb a tree and be safe. I don’t need a $1000 kit for a one or two times in a lifetime kit. She’s got 3 main limbs at the top, I figure drop those then the main tree in 5’-6’ sections maybe less on the way down.image.jpg

Junkyard

Can’t have too many saws
Local time
6:22 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Having just bought some gear I agree with Woodpecker, if you can get a lift in there that’s your best bet. If not a good set of gaffs, belt and a lanyard would get you most of what you need. Probably could borrow some of it.

cuinrearview

Unskilled Hammer Donkey
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag

Woodpecker

Sassy Madam
Staff member
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
The middle of the land shaped like a hand
Country flag
Northern VA is probably nice this time of year Brad. Some killer breweries down there too.

If I had time I'd offer to go down and knock it out quick. Ive got good friends in wytheville I wouldn't mind visiting. I'm working weekends now as it is though.

I get this question a few times a year. It's more than just buying the equipment. It takes lots of practice to get used to making cuts from spurs. A bucket is really the best option here.

Woodpecker

Sassy Madam
Staff member
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
The middle of the land shaped like a hand
Country flag