1st Porting Attempt, an MS200T Clone

BuffaloBill

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
6:27 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I don’t have a real need for more chainsaws but enjoy engines in general and wanted this experience. I’d watched a few eBay auctions and Facebook marketplace adds for a genuine Stihl 200T, but they‘re asking too much IMO. So when I saw a “sale” price on an orange parts kit I ordered one.

I have no prior porting experience, but have enjoyed reading all the information shared here and on YouTube and wanted to give it a go. I do have a lathe & mill and liked the idea of raising compression by lowering the cylinder and cutting squish to some minimal dimension. Will these low cost components stand up to high compression, etc., I don’t know….. I’d come across a few of you experienced builders who shared numbers, and set out to replicate port timings that Mastermind shared in a post a number of years ago (102, 126, 81.X).

Stock numbers w/o base gasket measured 98, 130.5/133, 77.5, squish .036. I took .036 off the cylinder base and landed on Mastermind’s timing numbers. I then made a squish cutting tool and sanding drum as Treemonkey showed in a video (thanks Treemonkey, I’m about 60miles south west of you). And even though I was cautioned to not create a ridge that can falsely show a big squish reading, I let it happen. I hadn’t ground enough relief at the end of my tool bit. By the time I corrected that and got the ridge cut out, I was right back at the stock .036” squish.…..

image.jpeg

So I took another .019” off the base, knowing the intake duration would end up greater than the target, but I figured I had really nothing to loose and experience to gain. Not wanting to recall the math needed to calculate port height vs degrees, I made a simple model in Solidworks using the stroke and rod length. From this model I determined the primary and secondary transfers should be raised .089 and .079 respectively, to land on 126/129 degrees.