High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Anyone using wood chippings as fill material for landscaping

rocco490

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
6:32 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Anyone used wood chippings as fill material for landscaping? How much does it settle? Best practices and recommendations for using it for fill material?

I have used quite a bit of wood chippings to soften the slope on part of a hill and planning to put a thick cap of dirt on top of the wood chippings that have been compacted and spread with a tractor and then seed with grass. Hoping it works......
Would like any recommendations from anyone else who has been there and done that as its my first time using wood chippings for fill material. I will say the stuff would probably do great for making a path to drive over slightly wet soft ground. I drove truck on it after alot of rainy weather no issues gives alot of traction kinda like the big wood mats I see used for equipment to drive on accessing wet areas.

huskihl

Muh fingers look really big
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Anyone used wood chippings as fill material for landscaping? How much does it settle? Best practices and recommendations for using it for fill material?

I have used quite a bit of wood chippings to soften the slope on part of a hill and planning to put a thick cap of dirt on top of the wood chippings that have been compacted and spread with a tractor and then seed with grass. Hoping it works......
Would like any recommendations from anyone else who has been there and done that as its my first time using wood chippings for fill material. I will say the stuff would probably do great for making a path to drive over slightly wet soft ground. I drove truck on it after alot of rainy weather no issues gives alot of traction kinda like the big wood mats I see used for equipment to drive on accessing wet areas.