7 vs 8 pin skip vs full

Catfishclark89

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
4:19 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Say a feller has a good running 70-80cc saw. Cutting hardwoods. Running 28” bar. In terms of cutting speed. Would he be better off running a:
1.skip chain with an 8 pin rim
2. Skip chain with a 7 pin rim
3. Full comp chain with 7 pin rim
4. Full comp chain with 8 pin rim
And when I say good running saw I mean a machined and ported saw. Running 3/8” pitch .050 gauge. Any and all input appreciated

Powerstroke Cowboy

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
3:19 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Just cause you can run a 8 tooth doesn't mean you should.

The 8 tooth is going to put more stress on the clutch, crank and bearings.

I'm far from a pro and I don't get much seat time behind a chainsaw. Take it for what it's worth. More or less making an observation to add to the discussion.

huskihl

Muh fingers look really big
GoldMember
Local time
5:19 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Skip is always slower on shorter bars. It’s easier to sharpen by 2/3, but the chain also goes dull exactly that much quicker. Unless you’re attracted to hitting rocks, in which that case skip would be better.

If you’re just bucking/down cutting, an 8 is faster on bigger saws or shorter bars. If you need torque and forgiveness to get through pinch/compression situations, a 7 is better

Last edited:

davidwyby

Tree felling enthusiast
GoldMember
Local time
2:19 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
.325 will add more cutters the linear length of the bar..

…and they are smaller and easier to pull, so theoretically faster until chips become a problem depending on the wood, and they dull a little faster, especially if ground to fast angles. 23rspro.

Purty sure I have run .325” 24”, I know I have run 3/8”lp, but none of the smaller pitches in 28”. Green wood here chokes them, and dry wood dulls them.

Wilhelm

Here For The Long Haul!
GoldMember
Local time
11:19 AM