High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

036 porting

More horse

New OPE Member
Local time
4:41 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Hey i got an o36 stihl that's a little tired out (bout 120psi) have it apart and am looking at the cylinder it appears to be in really nice shape. So I ordered a pop up piston and did some mild cleaning up on casting imperfections and deburring it. Now I'm looking to move onto cylinder I've been doing lots of reading on porting saws and I get the basics with .020 squish and making the air flow up transfers to top of the intake. But I am no porting expert. Did order a degree wheel that's not in yet but once it comes in I'll get some numbers on the saw. Just curious if anyone has any advice before I start grinding and possibly any numbers these saws like. Any help is appreciated thanks.

More horse

New OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
I forgot to add this saw is gunna be a firewood cutter not a high output cookie cutter

Wonkydonkey

Plastic member
Local time
10:41 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
There are a couple of threads somewhere, I will see if I can dig them out.

the 036 is a good old style saw, I was told the ports are already very good, when you delete bg also muf mod & bump the timing (I’ve got 30thou off the key)
The only thing left for me is machine work on the cylinder, which I don’t thing mine needs.

I’m sure others will be along to add there ideas to the mix :)

Btw welcome to the forum

Wonkydonkey

Plastic member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
you will soon realise the 034 super has the same size bore, so is really a 036.

Eres a long read to help fill your Boxing Day up

https://opeforum.com/threads/my-drf255-ported-036-video.141/

https://opeforum.com/threads/036-porting.25685/

https://opeforum.com/threads/036-port-build.24874/

https://opeforum.com/threads/stihl-036-rebuild.14584/

Btw I’m sure doc will be popping in and help you along at some time