Why port?

julie wolf

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
1:17 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am a newbie to chainsaws and am curious. Many people I have talked to say to get my new MS400 chainsaw ported. Why? What are the pros and cons? Really curious and trying to understand. What i have learned so far is a bit confusing.

Squareground3691

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
2:17 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am a newbie to chainsaws and am curious. Many people I have talked to say to get my new MS400 chainsaw ported. Why? What are the pros and cons? Really curious and trying to understand. What i have learned so far is a bit confusing.
If you know anyone that has a ported saw , you can try by a reputable saw builder, you will understand why , but it’s not for everyone only people that are dazed and confused, Lol 😆

Woodwater

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
8:17 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
If you are new to Chainsaw's, all i can say is: Get comfortable with it. The question to port the saw, should not come before you think the saw can be a bit faster that you can work faster with it.

farminkarman

I like the red & black ones
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Having a saw ported can change it's running characteristics to better fit the end user's needs. Some end users want a saw to have more grunt and be able to pull a longer bar than a stocker could. Some want a spicier build for faster limbing, and some want a nice balance of both. A competent builder should be able to achieve any of the aforementioned goals. As for the ms400, I would say gains of 30-40% are realistic depending on the build goals.

trooney

Admitted Woodaholic
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag