Tuning a Ported Saw Question - Ported Makita

Gvsu141

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
1:05 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have a t4Driller ported Makita ea5001p (Dolmar 5105). Saw has a limited coil. I have no experience tuning a saw like this, and am looking for some tips. This thing has a full on port job, milled/decked, etc. Pushing over 200psi.

Saw had some carb issues from sitting (needle was stuck open) - so I went through the carb, all set there now. Metering lever was set a bit low, so raised that back to spec. Got the low end all set and tuned like normal. This is one snappy little saw! I was debating on selling it, but I might need to hold onto this thing.

My question comes into tuning the high end, particularly since it has a limited coil. I can't get it to 4 stroke like normal due to hitting the limiter. I have a TT-20k wireless tach, but keep running into the rev limiter when trying to tune. It also seems the limiter is messing with the tach readings, so can't get a solid read there.

When I got it, the H screw was set about 2.5 turns out. Though I did raise the metering lever as mentioned. I know I need to get this tuned in the wood. Any tips with the limited coil how to do this? I'm expecting to hit the limiter again as soon as I lift out of the cut.

1. Set the saw pig rich, so it 4 strokes well under the rev limiter threshold.
2. Begin to slowly lean it out in the cut.
a. What's the best way to do this? Esp. since I'm not expecting to tell by lifting in the cut
b. Do I tune for max possible RPM in the cut per my tach? Or slightly fatter than max?
c. Some other process?

Thanks in advance

Gvsu141

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Here's some videos I just made cutting in 10" Ash log, Each video has one full cut, then one where I varied the pressure and lifting. I'd like to optimize this saw, but still be safe. How do any of these sound?