HELP! Technique for dropping leaning trees

redneckhillbilly

Super OPE Member
Local time
2:35 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag

I have a couple of dead leaning fir trees on my property that I have been looking at for a few years now trying to come up with a game plan on how to safely drop them, they are split from about 2 feet off the ground to approx 20 feet high. they are about the same size as the one in the video, is a stair step hinge/backcut a common technique or is it just this guys way of doing thing?

Im far from a pro, Im just a firewood collector and Im tired of these leaning trees blocking me from getting other trees downed.

I tried to add a few pics of the actual trees but my phone and service is really terrible.

redneckhillbilly

Super OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
single stem, the wood fiber has a verticle split that goes up about 1/3 of the total height of the tree, i have never had a tree barber chair on me, but I am almost certain these will if tried to drop with a traditional face and backcut

Loony661

Stock chainsaws suck.
GoldMember
Local time
3:35 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
single stem, the wood fiber has a verticle split that goes up about 1/3 of the total height of the tree, i have never had a tree barber chair on me, but I am almost certain these will if tried to drop with a traditional face and backcut
There’s a lot of loaded/stored energy there. Do not attempt a standard face and back back cut. You’re right in that they will barber very easily. Without seeing any pictures of the actual trees, I can’t safely suggest anything, and even with pictures it might not be safe to suggest anything.

redneckhillbilly

Super OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
i will do my best to get a few pics uploaded, my cell service is weak at home but when I go to town I get full service.