661 exhaust leak

skylogger

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
5:30 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hey guys I got a new 661 it runs perfect but has a small leak around exhaust, I took the muffler off and back on made sure everything was snug but no change. I'm no pro but figured it doesn't matter what say you?
2cf9815e8233d1cb1f65f90add73b9cf.jpg

Chainsaw Jim

Con Artist LLC
Local time
3:30 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Take it back to the dealer and see if they'll pull a muffler off the shelf under warranty. If it is past the warranty then you'll have to get it welded if you want your saw to stay pretty.

Chainsaw Jim

Con Artist LLC
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
What are you seeing that needs welding?
What are you seeing that needs welding?
That would be obvious unless you're just trying to point out that it is only leaking from between the heat shield and muffler like I obviously may not have noticed when viewing it on my small phone instead of a large computer monitor after correcting the angle for optimum viewing pleasure.

skidooguy

Genuine smartass
Local time
4:30 PM
User ID
Reaction score
My new 461 did the same thing. I'm glad you made this post. I'll look into it a bit further as well. Mine spit that nasty smelling ultra oil all over the clutch cover. Kinda tainted it right away I felt.

skylogger

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
That would be obvious unless you're just trying to point out that it is only leaking from between the heat shield and muffler like I obviously may not have noticed when viewing it on my small phone instead of a large computer monitor after correcting the angle for optimum viewing pleasure.
Sorry about that crooked pic i did it on my phone and thats how it came out it gets on my nerves too:(!

Adirondackstihl

Vert Da Furk........Bork Bork Bork
Local time
6:30 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag