Buy Used Saws CCC Ebay Store

240 Volt Wiring

Discussion in 'Construction' started by Marshy, Feb 25, 2019.

  1. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    I installed a 30A receptacle in my garage to run a compressor that needed 240 volt supply. I use a 3 prong receptical, L6-30. I ran a 10 gauge 2 wire to it and used the bare ground on the third leg of the receptical.

    I will check the compressor to see if it is a two or three wire on the male plug.

    My question is, should I have used a 10 gauge 3 wire between my beaker box to receptical and land the green lead on the third leg and not use the bare ground?

    Reason I ask is, I'm currently making a pig tail drop cord to double use for a future welder and as back feed from a generator (220V). I got a good deal on a 10 gauge 4 wire and so the drop cord will use black/white and the shielded green as the ground. This made me wonder if my 2 wire from box to receptical should have been a 3 wire with shielded ground...
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  2. Moparmyway

    Moparmyway Its just a saw

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,358
    Likes Received:
    17,023
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    New York
    Residential wiring, if your local codes allow (what I’m assuming is Romex) you to use an uninsulated ground, then you’re fine.

    Commercially, all conductors must be insulated, including the ground.

    Realistically, you’ll be fine so long as you were carefull about keeping the bare wire away from touching/pinching the insulated conductors and the receptacles terminals
     
    USMC615, RI Chevy and p61 western like this.
  3. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    Yes, I used Romex. Standard residential wiring.

    Considering I want to run a 240V welder, should I have used a 4 wire plug? I'll probably have a mig and or stick.
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  4. huskihl

    huskihl Sausage Fingers Forever

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12,903
    Likes Received:
    70,919
    Trophy Points:
    549
    Location:
    East Jordan, MI
    I believe my miller 200 only has 3 prongs
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  5. RI Chevy

    RI Chevy DollyKitaStihlvarna Runner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    39,220
    Trophy Points:
    473
    Location:
    Ocean State
    How far of a distance is it Wade from your panel to the outlet?
     
  6. JohnnyBlade

    JohnnyBlade JUST GONNA SEND IT

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    230
    Location:
    Momence,IL
    For ur A/C it will work.
    For ur welder it will work as long as it doesnt require a neutral for like a digital display or something.
    Backfeeding from a generator it will not work.
    U will need an insulated neutral wire.
    4 wires. 2 hots, 1 neutral, 1 ground.
     
  7. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    Not far, the receptical is within 2 ft horizontally but I ran the wire up to the crawlspace and over to the wall stud and back down. Wouldn't hurt much if I had to put a 3 wire in. My biggest goal is generator back feed.

    I'm not sure that is the case. My generator has this type of receptacle.
    20190225_224622.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2019
    RI Chevy and JohnnyBlade like this.
  8. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    Dont take this the wrong way. What you just described is a 3 wire because 3 leads are insulated. The uninsulated ground is not counted... I think that is standard nomenclature. I'm not an electrician though.

    Please let me know what you think. I'm trying to learn.
     
    RI Chevy and JohnnyBlade like this.
  9. JohnnyBlade

    JohnnyBlade JUST GONNA SEND IT

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    230
    Location:
    Momence,IL
    Hmmmm. Kinda weird having 2 hots and a ground like that on the generator. I was thinking more of a 4 wire twist lock plug..... IMG_5463.GIF
     
    Moparmyway, USMC615 and RI Chevy like this.
  10. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    Nope, theres all different kinds. My genny have the two horizontal prongs but my receptical on the wall is a 3 prong twist lock. I made a pig tail wich uses the two prong horizontal for the genny side then it is a 3 prong twist lock on the other end.
    20190225_230904.jpg

    20190225_203958.jpg
    Screenshot_20190225-203846_Chrome.jpg
     
    RI Chevy and JohnnyBlade like this.
  11. concretegrazer

    concretegrazer Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    5,778
    Trophy Points:
    345
    Location:
    Mo
    I'm no electrician but my genny is 3 wire output.
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  12. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    4 prong then?
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  13. concretegrazer

    concretegrazer Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    5,778
    Trophy Points:
    345
    Location:
    Mo
    Hard wired
     
    RI Chevy and Marshy like this.
  14. Marshy

    Marshy WFO Cutting

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    9,263
    Trophy Points:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico NY
    This old colman was cheap but was pristine. It says its rated for 15 amps at 220V, just has an odd plug. I already know it drinks the gas. If I ever upgrade I can just change the plug and my drop cord is actually a 4 wire so i could accommodate anything I want. Just the wall receptical is a little harder to change to 4 wire is needed. I'd probably add a new breaker and receptical for a 4 wire if needed so the current receptacle serves my compressor.
    Screenshot_20190225-232823_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20190225-232654_Chrome.jpg
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  15. JohnnyBlade

    JohnnyBlade JUST GONNA SEND IT

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    230
    Location:
    Momence,IL
    I stand corrected. I have not ran into a portable generator with that style of outlet in 240v.
    My dad actually has an old colman in just str8 120v. Runs great. Prob 30yrs old. Drink oil as much as it drinks gas. Never let him down though. With ur situation i think ur ok then with a 10/2 w/gnd feeding outlet.
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  16. Al Smith

    Al Smith Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    5,840
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    North western Ohio
    You can find those odd balls on flea bay most times a lot cheaper than any where else .I found an oddball recessed male twist lock for an old Marquette buzz box welder that dated back as far as I do .The plug hadn't been made in decades and it was both new and cheap .My dad had that old welder .Dad was a hell of a mechanic but he certainly wasn't an electrician because that thing would light you up .It took me about twice of getting zapped before I fixed it .
    That said most generators have either a Nema L 14 20 or L14 30 twist lock plug for 240 volt .But they could have anything depending on when they were made .
     
    RI Chevy likes this.
  17. Moparmyway

    Moparmyway Its just a saw

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,358
    Likes Received:
    17,023
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    New York
    The generator is grounded by itself

    Two hots are your insulated conductors

    As is for the compressor, your wiring is fine, and probably meets code

    As is for the generator back feed, it will work so long as you’re generator isnt gfci’d, but definitely not to code

    You should, to be safe, wire your receptacle for a 4 pole twist-lock, 2 hots, a neutral, and a ground, and wire your appliances accordingly as they need.
     
  18. JohnnyBlade

    JohnnyBlade JUST GONNA SEND IT

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    230
    Location:
    Momence,IL
    I guess this is what i was tryin to say. Thanks Kevin;)
     
    Dub11, Moparmyway and RI Chevy like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice