Husqvarna 359XP build with porting

MAF143

Super OPE Member
Local time
6:20 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Preface: I am a rookie learning about warming up saws for fun. I've done several muffler mods and have cleaned up and flowed a few saws.
I do not have a lathe.
I have a rotary tool with carbide bits, but no 90* tip.
I do have 357XP that I ported myself last year that runs well, but probably could use the upper transfers raised but that is out of my capabilities so I'll live with it.

My neighbor's brother was over cutting wood with us earlier this winter, he's also a co-worker I've known for years. I was cutting up some 20" Honey Locust and he pulls out his 359 and says, can you make it run like your 357?

I made a test cut with his 359 and raised out of the cut wot and NO 4-stroking, just trying to rev to the moon... The high jet was against the stop already so I told him to put it in my truck and I'd work on it for him. Seemed dangerously lean to me and thought it needed work before using it again.

One thing has lead to another and this is turning into a full porting job (he didn't have to twist my arm)...

So far...
The plug verified it was running lean.
Leaking gas line.
Crack by the chain catcher AV point under the oil tank. Shouldn't affect running. I'll JB Weld it and have him keep an eye on it.
Base gasket was broken at case seam at the pulse line port below the intake. Looked like it was sucking air at that point.
He wanted a pop-up piston, I couldn't say NO... LOL

I was wandering about pulling the external x-fer port covers off.

Is there anything special I need to do when removing them?
Are there gaskets that can get torn?
Can sealant be used when putting them back on or must gaskets be used?

I have lots of pix, but I keep getting errors when I try to upload them. Never had that problem before, any tips???

Numbers with the pop-up piston in and no base gasket are:
exhaust: 103* for 154* duration
blowdown: 18*
intake duration: 153*