Gasket sealant suggestions

magicrat

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
2:51 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ok I know what everyone like to use when deleting the base gasket. But I’m keeping the gasket on a 390xp. I’m at total newb. Its virtually brand new (maybe 1 hour) and I took it apart just to learn. Anyways I’m putting it back together and just wanted to know what y’all use that works. What does Husqvarna use at the factory ?? And can I use the same gasket again since it’s brand new or do I need to buy another one ?? Thanks.

Duce

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
3:51 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I use motoseal. Many other good brands other's use. You can use that gasket, new ones are cheap though. Either way you need to vacuum check that case. Or do what every you want, it's not my saw. Nothing special in a 390, I would not of opened it up until needed. Doing muffler mods, looks like husky uses motoseal colored sealant.

magicrat

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Yea I bought it of eBay and I had to make sure I wasn’t getting hosed. It 100% what it was supposed to be. Plus I want to start taking on project saws and I needed the experience. I found it very ez. So far anyways.

old guy

Love me some Husqvarna
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
If I use the gasket I do not use any sealer, I reuse gaskets never had one leak, provided it was not damaged.

magicrat

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
If I use the gasket I do not use any sealer, I reuse gaskets never had one leak, provided it was not damaged.
Interesting. The factory put something on there although I don’t think it was sealant. Maybe just grease, not sure what it was.

farminkarman

I like the red & black ones
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag