Battery powered weed trimmer

S&S_Work_Saws

Super OPE Member
Local time
11:57 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
So I've got a Stihl FS131 4 stroke trimmer for the big stuff. Now I'm in the market for a battery powered string trimmer for the smaller stuff and for my wife to occasionally use. It doesn't have to be a Stihl necessarily but I am a big Stihl fan. Any recommendations??
Also I'll add that I'm a carpenter by trade and have a huge pile of DeWalt 20V and Metabo 18/36V batteries but not sure if either of those companies make a weed eater.

Seachaser

Super OPE Member
Local time
12:57 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I get whichever is on sale. I got a good deal on Milwaukee trimmer and saw head not too long ago by watching Home Depot’s deal of the day and Northern tool. It surprised me. My wife can even run it. I have a Husky for the real stuff.

Philbert

Chainsaw Enthusiast
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
The battery is half the tool.

Start with the batteries you have, if you have that option.

If you choose a different battery platform for your OPE, look st the entire ‘family’ of tools supported.

You may swear that you only want this one tool, but they are like eating potato chips: leaf blower, hedge trimmer, lawn mower, pole saw , . . .

Philbert

LAWN BOY

Pothole
Local time
9:57 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have a little Black+Decker cordless trimmer that I got 1 year ago. It’s great for little stuff. My grandma has one she got 6 years ago and it still works great. They are super affordable.
My grandma has an Echo 58V cordless weed whacker, along with other Echo cordless tools. I use it as much as she does. We love it. It’s 4.5 years old and hasn’t had any problems.

Mycamaro_68

By guess and by golly
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag