BMSS

OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
5:04 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hello, I am new here and I am just getting into working on saws in the sense of trying to port and other mods. I have always been fascinated with chainsaws, and im not looking to try and make a living doing this, just want to make my saws run better and maybe have a hobby I can enjoy! haha. That being said I will ask a question with this introduction. What size lathe are some of you builders using? and what are things you like and dislike about your set up? I will only be working on chainsaws for now, but who knows what the future holds. Thanks for taking the time to read this and I look forward to any advice!

Rich Fife

Sally slap my ass
Local time
6:04 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hello, I am new here and I am just getting into working on saws in the sense of trying to port and other mods. I have always been fascinated with chainsaws, and im not looking to try and make a living doing this, just want to make my saws run better and maybe have a hobby I can enjoy!
Prepare for fun, headaches, frustrations and some let-downs... lol.
The saw world is a bit clicky... you'll learn and/or see it in due time.
That being said I will ask a question with this introduction. What size lathe are some of you builders using?
I've used a 10" without any issues... Now I use a 16" lathe.
what are things you like and dislike about your set up? I will only be working on chainsaws for now, but who knows what the future holds.
Ideally whatever setup you choose to use, you want to keep it as Rigid as possible for better finishes and accuracy.
Thanks for taking the time to read this and I look forward to any advice!
There are a bunch of guys on here with great 2 stroke knowledge... some may be hesitant to offer their opinion and/or advice while others will openly give suggestions... then you have others that may give you a little sidebar commentary. Consider it constructive criticism... 😄