CSM newbie question

BrettL

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
1:20 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hello. I've read the posts here and learned a lot. Can I mill green logs? If so, should I coat the entire board with something or would that be counterproductive? If this is pheasable, I'd really appreciate any tips and tricks for stacking and storage while drying and other inforMarion. Thank you.

paragonbuilder

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
2:20 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I'm no expert. But I believe it's best to seal the end grain, sticker the stacks with the same species, and weight it to minimize twisting.
Hopefully someone more knowledgeable can enlighten us further.
@junkman, @quietfly

Iron.and.bark

Eats trees & drinks dinosaur juice
Local time
2:20 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Hello. I've read the posts here and learned a lot. Can I mill green logs? If so, should I coat the entire board with something or would that be counterproductive? If this is pheasable, I'd really appreciate any tips and tricks for stacking and storage while drying and other inforMarion. Thank you.

I really need to start a csm FAQ for here.

Milling green is fine.

Only seal ends of the timber as fundamentally what happens when timber splits is the end grain dries out disproportionately faster than the rest of the piece. You seal ends to reduce moisture loss from the end grain, so hopefully dries even with rest off piece.

Sticker, have never been to concerned with what timber the stickers are made out of. Even been using chip board when it is available. Certain species may stain and require particular stickers, but not something I have experienced.

Make sure that your stickers line up, they should all be above each other with the slab in between. Depending on piece size, I like 1 sticker for each 2-3 feet of slab.

junkman

Crush it
Local time
11:20 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag