Baby boomers and saws

FergusonTO35

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
2:14 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Trades seem to be making a comeback as far as desirable careers go, at least around here. If my kid wants to be a plumber/electrician/whatever I will totally support that. If it doesn't work out she can always try something else.

Interestingly, I made the switch from a tradesman to an academic line of work. I was a car mechanic for my first career. I loved learning how to take care of cars and took pride in my work. The skills and knowledge I gained still serve me well today. The problem is, you will never amount to much in that trade if you are not willing to switch jobs contstantly. I hate changing jobs, consequently employers always viewed me as someone who would eat sh!t with a smile. I decided that if I wasn't going to earn much I wanted an easy job with good benefits so I took an office job with our state government. Throughout my working life I was a part time college student and earned a B.A. and M.A. in History, something I have always loved. This, plus my experience working with government records, allowed me to find a full time job as an archivist which I still hold today and plan to retire from.

Al Smith

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Some how you have to find something you can make money at you don't mind doing .To tell the truth I'm a mechanic/machinest trapped inside an electricians body .For the simple reason I understand it while most people don't plus it's easy and pays a good wage . That plus the fact I'm so ornery I could baffle the hell out of people if I wanted to and they would have no idea if I'm telling a BS story or not .I only do that as a joke .I'm really pretty much straight up unless somebody really pisses me off .Then game on .