High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Honda GX270 +23 year old carb: Rebuild or Replace?

FTG-05

Super OPE Member
Local time
6:53 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have a NorthStar 5500w generator with a Honda GX270 engine (GCAB-VNT2, serial number 143xxxx. The genset was bought summer 1999 and was last run late April/early May 2011.

I got it restarted a couple days ago; ran fine for about an hour on and off while I was using it to drive fence posts. I went to refuel it and when I tried to start it, the engine hydrolocked. Removed the spark plug, pulled the cords, tons of fuel came out of the spark plug hole. Reinstalled the spark plug, no spark, nothing.

I can get a carb rebuild kit off of Amazon for about $20 or a brand new carb replacement for about $16. Obviously, the new carb is China-made; Honda OEM carbs go for $90-$175.

If I rebuild it - which I've never done before - I risk a) losing some part and/or b) not reassembling it correctly. Plus, it's a +23 year old carb, that's been neglected for over 12 years, there is bound to be other parts not included in the rebuild kit that will need replacing, like gaskets.

Which do you recommend?

Thanks,

GMB74

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
7:53 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
The problem with your current carb is the inlet needle and seat not sealing properly and/or the float sinking and not closing the needle.
Have you taken the carb apart? At least pull off the bowl and see what it looks like in there.
If it is really gunked up or corroded, the carb is probably junk.
If not too bad, you may get away with a good cleaning, a gasket set and needle/seat. Check the pricing on these items to see what you are getting into. These carbs are pretty simple to work on, but have really small jets and passages that are easily clogged up and damaged by old gas, especially ethanol gas. A new carb might be a better option.