Ryan Browne

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
11:28 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
So, I've got a good running saw and I stumbled across a used OEM cylinder in decent condition. I'm gonna try my first ever attempt at messing with the ports with my burr grinder. My question is: after grinding and shining, etc, can I just install it on my saw, or do I need new rings?

I guess many of you already know this, but I'm new at this :).

Thanks

BigRed96

Super OPE Member
Local time
12:28 AM
User ID
Reaction score
So, I've got a good running saw and I stumbled across a used OEM cylinder in decent condition. I'm gonna try my first ever attempt at messing with the ports with my burr grinder. My question is: after grinding and shining, etc, can I just install it on my saw, or do I need new rings?

I guess many of you already know this, but I'm new at this :).

Thanks
If it was me I would replace the rings. Something like $15 for a set of Cabers.

Landmark

Chainsaw Hack
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Used piston is ok but used rings.....
image.jpeg

Last edited:

old guy

Love me some Husqvarna
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Put the ring in the cyl. and push it down with the piston to just above the intake port, measure the end gap with feeler gauges, new rings will be .008 -.010 or so. I put one back in that was .014, replaced a couple that were .018 to .020. My 372 picked up 6 lbs. of comp after one start up with the new rings.

mdavlee

Hillbilly grinder
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Depends on how used the piston is. If it's blowing 175 psi I'd just reuse them and not have to break them in again. How wore is the skirt?

Ryan Browne

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Thanks guys. I tried googling it. Normally I'm pretty good at that (better than working on engines anyways), but honestly couldn't find the answer.

Now I know. Super cool to be able to learn this stuff.