McCulloch Super 797 Horsepower Question

Alaskan Stihl

OPE Member
Local time
7:50 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Got a question...

Got into a debate on Power of Chainsaws with a friend of mine going on...

I told him that... I heard...that the McCulloch Super 797 was one of largest saws that was sold to the general public (IE: Engine displacement size). My friends reply, is that I was incorrect and (keep in mind that I told him the largest that "McCulloch" produced...) anyway, he brought up that the new Stihl 881 Magnum is the largest and most powerful chainsaw manufactured for the public. Since I am not an expert, I kept silent and went to do some more research...

Survey says....

It appears that the Stihl 881 Magnum has a displacement of 121.6cc whereas the McCulloch Super 797 is 123cc (uh-oh...looks like McCulloch beats the magnum by a couple CC's!) My friend isn't going to like hearing that tid-bit!! haha!

So....

When I came back and told him about my findings...he replied that he was talking about HP and not Displacement (uh...wait a minute slick....that is not what we originally discussed...but whatever). Anyhow, I replied..."Well, I was talking displacement & engine size...not Horsepower!" geeez louis!! I replied that I kind of figured that a saw manufactured in 1969 is not going to have the technology and engineering of a saw produced in 2022 (heck there are even fuel injected saws out now!!)

However, stranger things have happened!

So, I looked up the HP for the Stihl Magnum and it says it cranks out 8.6bhp (braking horsepower). Now, the big question: "Does anyone have any specs on how much Horsepower the McCulloch Super 797 produced? (I know that McCulloch kept that information hush-hush...but maybe someone has some data somewhere?)

Thanks!

heimannm

Here For The Long Haul!
GoldMember
Local time
10:50 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag