High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Compression questions

Crocodile Lyle

OPE Member
Local time
6:50 PM
User ID
Reaction score
I'm new to tearing down saws and rebuilding them but bought a cheap 038 magnum that wouldn't start, I started with a compression check and was around 115psi. After further inspection it had alot of worn out parts so I just completely tore it down to the crankcase. The cylinder and piston are oem and looked to be in very nice condition so I bought new Caber rings to raise the compression. I took my digital caliper and measured the width of the old rings and compared that measurement to the new ones and it was clear they needed replaced. I put everything back together and replaced pretty much everything except the case,bearing,crank,piston and cylinder. Got it running but kept dying at idle after diagnosis I discovered I had a bad coil, replaced it and got it running and dialed in the carburetor. Now the saw after warm will only restart on half choke. So I redid a compression check and I'm now at 100psi. I let this saw idle for at least 40min and did some test cuts and was running fine. What bothers me is I lost 15psi in compression and still after warmed up only starts at half choke. I vacuum pressure checked and it's holding vacuum and also vacuum checked the carburetor and it holds as well. Should I be looking at replacing the piston and cylinder or try some oem stihl rings?

Frogfarmer

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Cabers are good. If it's strong in the cut your guage may be off. Don't condemn it on numbers alone.

Crocodile Lyle

OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
The gauge I'm using is a snap on compression testing kit which I know is good and gives accurate readings. I feel this 038 should be at least pulling over 150psi.

Frogfarmer

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Send it to Randy. You'll have it by Christmas and it will blow 150 all day long.

Crocodile Lyle