Project K970 Concrete Saw

Automender

Active OPE Member
Local time
5:43 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am totally new to 2 cycle engines but have never had any of my cars in the shop for 45 years unless it was a warranty service. I recently got on a kick to learn about 2 cycle engines and have a good running concrete saw. I purchased a Husky K970 16" cutoff saw with a 16 inch diamond blade. I joined the forum and read maybe a hundred or more threads to get a basic understanding.

The saw as bought would start and run but would not idle. Looked like the saw was flooding because the plug was always wet after the saw stalled out. I ended up ultrasonically cleaned and rebuilt the carb on this saw and set the needle valve level. Saw ran better and after adjusting the carb it was running pretty good but lagged a little on acceleration but I figured a 16 inch blade was hard to get started. I also replaced the cutter head because the bearing had ovaled out the bearing housing. I got a NOS for $35 on fleabay.

After I ran the saw for a short time I saw oily deposits around the base gasket. I check compression and it was only 75 psi. I pulled the jug to fix the base gasket and found the jug and piston in what I would say good shape. I inserted one of the piston rings into the bore and there was about 3/16 inch gap in the ring ends. I ordered a set of caliber rings and inserted those in the same bore and had only .0015 inch gap. Put the saw together with a touch of Motoseal on the base gasket. Check compression today and on the first pull it rose to 110 psi and couldn't pull again unless I pressed in the decompression valve.

Had a question on how people can pull the starter rope on saws with 150 to 175 psi compression. I was worried about messing up the recoil starter trying to test compression. this saw has a 56mm piston.