Considering my first suppressor.

Mycamaro_68

By guess and by golly
Local time
2:35 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am trying to figure out my first suppressor. Anybody here care to share any wisdom? My primary use will be rifle target practice. Mainly with 6mm arc and 5.56 for right now. I have considered some large bore modular units like Silencerco Hybrid 46M or JK 155 VersaX 45. Each of those give plenty of room for further growth. I just can't decide if I want to get 1 jack of all trades that masters none or if I would be smarter to slowly get multiple dedicated caliber cans. Any opinions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ryan

cescarbrough

Active OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am not a can expert but I have never heard of cans that have room for expansion for growth. Usually they are dedicated to a specific thread pitch and caliber size. Even if it were not so I would want each firearm to have its own.

Mycamaro_68

By guess and by golly
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
The 2 that I mentioned, as well as several other options, have a 45 caliber bore but you can buy caliber specific end caps and thread mounts. The baffles are still 45 caliber but you can shoot anything smaller as well. Essentially a person could buy 1 suppressor and also any caliber specific accessories to use it on any caliber. The downside being it won't suppress smaller calibers as well as dedicated units. But is that trade off worth only buying 1 suppressor, only paying the tax stamp once and only having the wait time once? Or is spending the extra money and time waiting for each caliber specific suppressor the better choice? These are the questions I am hoping to get some insight on. I don't think there is any wrong way to go. I was just hoping to hear from anybody that has real world experience.

av8or3

So many saw ... so little time...
GoldMember
Local time
3:35 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag