High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

880 flooding and very hard pulling cord

Mugwortt

Active OPE Member
Local time
8:09 AM
User ID
Reaction score
I unfortunately left the saw sitting since the fall with fuel in it. In the past years I have always had a hard time starting but this year is different. Floods on run mode - suspect inlet needle? Took apart the carb and inspected the needle. There is a line around the tappered part of the needle, shop manual says replace. Also the pull cord without the spark plug in works fine. As soon as I try it with the plug in - really tough to pull and can't get a complete pull on the cord. This is with the decompression button in or out. A friend suggested to have a look at the decompression button, figured it could be stuck eventhough it seems to be working the same as it always did? This same friend suggested to clean and blow all the ports out on the carb.

Any suggestions welcome. I am no mechanic but can poke my way through things, learning as I go.

Attachments

• 20220508_152342.jpg
    20220508_152342.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 29
  • 20220508_161957.jpg
    20220508_161957.jpg
    150.5 KB · Views: 28

Ketchup

Epoxy member
Local time
9:09 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Sounds like you’re on the right track. You need to get the old fuel out of the case. Take the plug out and flip the saw over so the plug hole is facing down. Leave it for a week. See if some old mix develops below the saw.

Duane(Pa)

It's the chain...
GoldMember
Local time
11:09 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Remove the muffler and inspect the piston. That would be right after you remove the recoil cover and inspect the starting mechanism. Sounds strange that you don’t get a complete pull with spark plug installed...

av8or3

So many saw ... so little time...
GoldMember
Local time
11:09 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag