Somebody Owes Me Some Money

toolmaker

Super OPE Member
Local time
5:57 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
So, I'm a Tool & Die Maker, retired with 48 years of experience. Years ago I started using Nicholson Chainsaw files for a reason.
Recently I was reading a thread on here about files, and a few of you said that you use Pferd. What the heck, I bought a half-dozen and gave them a try. I didn't even get half of my chain sharpened until the file was junk. As I tossed a brand new Pferd in the trash, I remembered why I have been using Nicholson for so many years.

Attachments

• KIMG0308.JPG
    KIMG0308.JPG
    104.4 KB · Views: 51

Squareground3691

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I’m
So, I'm a Tool & Die Maker, retired with 48 years of experience. Years ago I started using Nicholson Chainsaw files for a reason.
Recently I was reading a thread on here about files, and a few of you said that you use Pferd. What the heck, I bought a half-dozen and gave them a try. I didn't even get half of my chain sharpened until the file was junk. As I tossed a brand new Pferd in the trash, I remembered why I have been using Nicholson for so many years.
Mine was Obeg/Sandvik till couldn’t get them, started using Vallorbe over a decade ago never looked back.

Last edited:

WI_Hedgehog

Super OPE Member
Local time
4:57 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Maybe it's me? I commented about Pferd, but lately have seen some don't last like they used to on STIHL chain. Vallorbe seem good, Timber Savage are surprisingly good, the Crescent Nicholson that just came in seem good so far. (more)

RCBS

Redneck Savant Extraordinaire
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
They work excellent on Oregon chains for me. Their classic cuts well. The premiums let me get a better edge.