ECHO CS-620 PW intermittent no start when hot

TurbineDoc

Active OPE Member
Local time
5:55 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hello my 1st post this forum, I am a veteran of many Diesel truck forums under same user name.

I have searched until I'm feeling like I have been drinking from a fire-hose; :eek: there is soo much good information but even with the search engine, the is nothing quite matching what I'm experiencing.

I am a member of a Christian Disaster Relief Ministry team where we volunteer & assist with recovery & debris removal following Wind, Flood, & Ice storms I moved into a "professional saw" from the Sthil MS290 & Poulan 3450 saws I have had for decades, into an Echo CS-620 PW at end of storm season 2020.

It has been a great saw thus far, all stock in a call out 3 weeks ago; a small area impact tornado in Moss Point MS the saw after fueling up refused to restart, after about 10 minutes I was able to restart it no issues for the rest of the day, I had a similar event happen last year.

Common denominator both events was high heat index days +100-105F with 95+% humidity, saw is fine now no issues, I still have warranty on the saw do I need to have them look at it or is this a temperature driven event, just live with it?

The trees we normally encounter are sized from saplings to 60" across that take cuts from both sides with a 28"-32" bar, varieties as we find them cedar, pine, live oak, water oak, magnolia, "pop-corn" (Chinese Tallow) sometimes down on ground or on houses, or ones we have to drop that are twisted or broken off at tops. The larger older trees often are rotten in middle with water in them that "gum up" bar/chains with "mud & pitch"

I run 50:1 "true fuel" or similar pre mix, or 50:1 non eth 87 octane g/o mix I add Stabil to when I mix it, I keep the oiler turned up to max factory allowable adjustment, I've read here that more oil is possible after making some "field modifications" to the limiter.