Project TS420 Concrete Saw

Automender

Active OPE Member
Local time
10:15 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I picked up a Stihl TS420 saw for $50 and wanted to try to refurbish it. This is my first time to completely rebuild a saw. I have installed new rings in a Husky K970 cutoff saw and rebuilding the carb. I have no history on this saw nor why it failed other than the person said it was a top end issue. I decided to strip the saw down the other day and found two thing I could use some advice on. On the strip down I found play in the crank bearings and what looks like pieces of bearing cages in the crankcase. So those need to be replaced but the rod bearings do not have any play up or down and back and forth. The rod however rocks side to side and I am not talking the normal sliding side to side. I am thinking this needs to be replace due to the rocking motion but wonder why no vertical play.
Second issue is that the piston looks pretty good and likewise the cylinder looks good compared to You tube videos on failed saws. However the piston top looks like it has some erosion on the top. What causes this type of damage?

Attachments

• IMG_4207.jpg
    IMG_4207.jpg
    86.1 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_4213.jpg
    IMG_4213.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_4224.jpg
    IMG_4224.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_4212.jpg
    IMG_4212.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_4227.jpg
    IMG_4227.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 17

Automender

Active OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ended up going to HL supply around Christmas while visiting my daughter in Florida. Picked up a crank and bearings along with a carb kit. I bought a Cross Performance cylinder and piston with rebuild kit during a sale in July.