High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Log splitter hydraulic questions, dump valve and pressure setting

Socalmisfit

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
11:20 AM
User ID
Reaction score
So I want to put a dump valve on my splitter, I kind of get how the system works and I believe all the return oil flows through the log lift side of the system. All those hoses are smaller so more restriction. By the looks of it I would hook a & b from the cylinder to the dump and then into the return if I’m understanding it right. I’m wanting to add the dump for faster recoil and help to keep the oil cooler. I understand I’m gonna still have heat but if I can shove it straight back to the tank and not through the detents it should help a little.
Next question my pump pressure can’t be set, it is set through the detent and the valve has a fixed pressure of 2000 psi. If I got a different valve could I then adjust the pressure up, or buy a valve with a higher fixed rate? Like I said I am new to hydraulics and I get the basics. I also understand the less restrictions I have in the system the cooler the system runs, and that’s what I am trying to accomplish.
I also understand that I can put a 5” ram and get a higher splitting force, but a valve is cheaper than a ram. I’m not exactly sure how much more force 500-1000 more psi would make but if it would get what I’m looking for I would like to try it. I know adding more pressure puts more of a working load on the cylinder but if the cylinder is rated at 3000 I’d like to be somewhere from 25-2800.
I don’t run an auto cycle so I will be there to make sure stuff don’t get tore up with the added force. Just want to get a little more out of the system with out the huge cost of a bigger ram. If after doing these upgrades, if I’m on the right path and they can work, and I’m still looking for more than a bigger cylinder it is. After that I’ll have more questions about the oil cooler I will need thanks guys.

Deets066

AKA Deetsey
Local time