High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Limiter cap tool?

Jungleman

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
6:56 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Got a brand new MS880 with a 49” bar. I hate it. It’s stupid big(completely unnecessary sized bar) and it’s stupid heavy (37.5 lbs, I weighed it!) It was bought by my work, against my advice. I said a ms660 with a 36” bar would be more than enough for the trees I had to take down. Then I could put a smaller bar on it and still use it.
I was overruled and if they want to drop 2100 on a saw then that’s what the gonna do. I can’t stop them, I’ll just laugh at them.

I got a 36” bar for it last week and I put it on but the carb needs adjusting now, sounds way too heavy. When I tried to adjust the carb nothing happened so I was wondering where I can find a tool to remove that limiter cap.

Also, full disclosure, I’m not in the business like most of the people on this forum. I’m just a farmer, not a professional arborist. When I started my latest job about 5 years ago they found out I am pretty good with a saw and started having me take down trees during the down time. As the years went by the trees I took down got bigger and I kept asking for a bigger saw. About 6 months ago I was asked to take down a 6ft ash and I was like nope. I limbed it already with my ms391 and. 25” bar, standing in the bucket of a kubota front end loader. Very safe I assure you.
All that’s left is the massive trunk and I refused to touch it unless they got me a bigger saw. Hence why I now have a massive beast at my disposal that honestly I don’t really want to use more than I have to. Most of the bigger trees are only 4 and a half footers. I would have been more than happy with a lighter saw and a 36” bar. Just looking at that 880 makes me reach for the ibuprofen.

So. Where can I get the tool to remove these carb caps?

Jungleman

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
A drywall screw works just fine.