jpcjguy

New OPE Member
Local time
8:35 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hi Everyone,

New here and have learned a lot! I am a home hobbyist and I picked up this Husqvarna K760 Cut-Off saw off marketplace for $100. Guy said the cord broke on the recoil and he fixed it once with something he had laying around and then that broke and he gave up on it. He said it has been sitting for a few years in his garage and he was cleaning out.
I took a chance and grabbed it, hoping it was just the carb.
I had some universal starter rope from Lowes laying around and I cut it to 45" and put it on. Would not start. Took out the plug and inspected it and cleaned it - looked ok. still no luck. Did not feel a ton of resistance on the cord - got me wondering about the compression. Turns out, after some research (now), concrete dust can eat these machines... great. Oh well. I end up taking the carb off and apart - a little dirty but I have seen worse. Cleaned it up as much as a could - did not mess with welch plugs. Put it all together and tried again. Must have pulled the cord 100 times. On 2 occasions it appeared to start (for as second or two) but then just died. Damn. Tried again (100 times - and probably flooded it - because that is how I roll 😂 ) Then I thought, let me check compression (waited to the end to try that because not sure I wanted the answer). Got out my OTC 5605 Deluxe Compression Tester Kit and made sure the decompression valve was pushed in. Pulled it 5 times, 90ish psi. Damn. Did this three more times and averaged between 85 and 95. Uh-oh. Now I did not add any oil into the cylinder. The engine is cold. but I am not optimistic.
I took my inspection camera (harbor freight) and took some pics through the spark plug hole. I will be honest - I am not good (or have the experience) to determine cylinder/piston wall or ring condition by looking at it - unless it is blatantly obvious. I did not see anything blatant but I could be way off here.