High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Has anyone used the Shindaiwa 490

G

Greenerpastures

Has anyone used the Shinwaiwa 490 saw, any information would be appreciated.
I did some research before buying and found no negatives, so am just wondering
if there is any weak areas that need watching.
Still pondering whether to use a 18 or 20 inch bar on it.
Shindaiwa-490-Ireland.jpg

Thanks & Regards, john

Czed

Aluminium Member
GoldMember
Local time
2:00 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Bump for the new guy somebody's got or had one of these

Ryan Browne

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
1:00 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I'm no expert, but a little research seems to suggest that the 490 is just an updated 488.

If it's anything like a 488, you're looking at a great saw. Mine has been the absolute most reliable saw I've owned, and it lived part of its life as a rental saw, so it wasn't babied. The 488s in the US (some of them anyway) had a very stuffed up muffler and a non-adjustable H jet in the carb. I know that there are adjustable carbs available online, but seeing as you're overseas, you may not have that issue to begin with.

For the project you mentioned in your other post, I think this saw would be a great candidate. Personally, I'd also consider the Dolmar 421 and 5105. Both of them have a really nice easy start feature, which I really like for clearing brush and thinning. It's nice to have on a saw that will be on and off 30 times a day. My Dolmar 421 has a switch that automatically returns to ON and it fires up on half a pull when warm. I grab it before my 488 for thinning.

If you think you'll have good dealer support for the Shindaiwa, and can get a good price, it's likely to be a nice little saw.

Four Paws

Chrome won't get you home
Local time
12:00 PM
User ID
Reaction score
The 490 is indeed an updated 488. They are nice saws, and have a fully adjustable carburetor, although you need the special wrench.