Best way to make 3x6s with Alaskan mill

EbS-P

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
3:14 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I tensioner is sorted out for now. Now I setting up to mill 3x6s. Odd size yes but at or close to those dimensions I can rip 3” cuts on my table saw and 6” on my bandsaw.

This is my first attempt at lumber with the Alaskan mill. Only slabs before now. My plans is to cut slabs at 3” thick. Then restack them all together on their long edge and clamp them together then mill with 6” thick cuts.

Is this a good plan? How would you tackle this job? Thanks for your feedback.
Evan

Attachments

• 8279257B-80DE-43A0-A078-F56FA9485A4B.jpeg
    8279257B-80DE-43A0-A078-F56FA9485A4B.jpeg
    228 KB · Views: 14

Guido Salvage

Supreme saw hoeder
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have never milled with a chain saw but own a band and circular mill. The biggest obstacle that I can see is that you have no way of clamping them to prevent movement. With a circular mill you have a head block and dog to hold the boards in place, my band mill has toe boards and log clamps.

Though I own an edger, I will often stack multiple boards vertically on my band mill and then slice them. I will typically square the top and then flip them so I have a finished edge on the bottom and can cut them to the proper dimensions.

Without a jig and some type of clamp I think you risk the boards leaning out to the side and not having a square edge.

Last edited:

EbS-P

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
I have never milled with a chain saw but own a band an circular mill. The biggest obstacle that I can see is that you have no way of clamping them to prevent movement. With a circular mill you have a head block and dog to hold the boards in place, my band mill has toe boards and log clamps.