TreeLife

I'm Dominick
GoldMember
Local time
12:34 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I've been on two wheels on pavement for a long time, with a couple people we knew passing on from being killed by negligent drivers...Amber and I decided it is time to get off the pavement and into the woods.

That being said, I've got lots of atv experience and used to ride some pretty potent machines. But now I'm looking at either a big 4x4 atv or a side by side. Wanted to see what people were riding and how they like em.

cuinrearview

Unskilled Hammer Donkey
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Sorry to hear it. The distractions for cage drivers are only getting worse. I had a close call in '04 with someone that didn't see me that ended on-road two-wheeling for me, at least until the kids are a little older.

Even the "basic" side bys are pretty damn sporty these days, and road legal with restrictions in a lot of places. My Defender HD8 will hit 55 on flat land, and haul close to a face cord of wood(not at the same time). The opinions on belt drives vary, but if I'm using it for work I use low range. I've yet to encounter a situation that demanded 4x4 and the diff lock. It's one of those tools that you never realized how many ways it makes things better.

Xr650jkallen

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
11:34 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I second the hd8. Mine has been absolutely fantastic and will haul a pile of wood. The underseat storage and flat floorboard is also nice.

JugHead27

I'd rather be called gay
Local time
1:34 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Lots have gone way with the SXSs now but I've stayed true to quads as they are right nimble for getting around the woods easily. Honda ranchers or yamaha kodiaks is what I'd look into

cuinrearview

Unskilled Hammer Donkey
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag