High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

455 rancher(2010)-What am I missing?

Lexicon

New OPE Member
Local time
3:42 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a newb here and to small engines, but I have lots of experience with large engines, etc. Which is why when my 455 Rancher started dying under load, I figured what the heck, how hard can it be? Fast forward 2 months, and I'm about to lose it! with each fruitless action I moved on to another, until cost practicality was abandoned and gave way to pride. here are my steps in order: Cleaned air filter, changed fuel filter, checked carb intake for leaks, checked spark arrestor, changed plug, fitted carb kit, changed fuel lines & primer bulb, changed ignition module, changed carb, changed impulse line, checked compression, found low...changed piston & cylinder, and after that last action... the saw is doing the SAME THING!!! I know I should've tossed this a few steps back, but I will not let this orange demon defeat me.... What have I overlooked?

Lexicon

New OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
well I did try tuning the first one, made no difference, it would start in 2 pulls, idle continuously, but when throttle opened it would just moan pathetically. I figured the new carb (Chinese, "HIPA WTA-29") might be set a bit lean, but should at least give a normal rev response with no load... I'll have a go at tuning tomorrow.

Last edited:

jakethesnake

I Am The Snake
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Funny thing I just had a saw doing very similar things I blamed it on old gas cleaned carb an tuned on it and it ran. 445 husky Not my Saw

beaglebriar

The Peanut Gallery
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag