High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

You down wit' P.P.E.? Right here on O.P.E.?

wildroamer

Winning!
Local time
12:47 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
OK, I'm no pro, but I do wear it! Just thought I'd get the ball rolling on personal protective equipment, maybe get some input from the real pro's, and anyone else who wants to chime in.

IMG_ppe_zpstuvnjfkv.jpg

• Boots: Yup, I wear em'! And I want a good heel, easy to end up on my a$$. These don't have steel toe, but probably should.
  • Chaps: I never used to, but after buying my own saws, and sawing a lot more these days, I bit the bullet. These are Labonville's, you can spend less, you can spend more. Really kicking myself for not doing it sooner. Not only protection from that pesky chain, but also briars/thorns, cold, and protects my pants from the oily chips, etc.
  • Gloves: Aren't those nice looking Husqvarna gloves, with the protection built into the back of left one!? As you can see, I never wear them. I spend too much time grabbing onto nasty logs, branches, etc. I would wreck them, but maybe I'll use them someday. Generally use the pigskins with no liners. Rugged, inexpensive, and stay fairly supple even after soaking. If I'm just bucking up some logs, I have a nice set of earmuffs, but mostly I just put on the helmet. I like that I'm not looking for hearing protection, as I can just fold them up. Also, I find the face screen to be a necessity to save my handsome face. Which brings me to;
  • Safety glasses: ALWAYS! I wear these glasses a lot, not just for chainsaw use. And that means whether I am using the face screen on the helmet, or not. I absolutely love the yellow tint anyway, somehow actually makes things seem brighter, even on dreary days. protects from getting whipped by branches, sawdust, etc, etc, etc.