Went Kinetic over hydro splitter

RyeThomas

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
3:31 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ok so I have a thread on help me pick a splitter on another site with thoughts, prices, many replies, etc. I was encouraged to head over here and I'm excited to be here. Figured I'd post some info here for those who missed it if any care.
I had a 27t MTD with a 4 way wedge. She needs some work so I went and talked to the Warden (wife) and pitched a Kinetic. I had a hard time deciding because I have never even seen one much less run one. I have been heating my home with firewood for about 10-12 years. I have a Rambler/ranch home that is nothing but addition after addition over the years, vaulted ceilings and little to no efficiency. A cold winter and I can burn 8-10 true chords. My roof never has snow on it if you catch my drift, lol.
Anyway here in Va I don't get a bunch of huge rounds so I decided to give a Kinetic a try. Well after much research I went with a SSHD with a higher work table. I have roughly 5 hours on the machine and I have split a pretty good amount of firewood. I'm am very impressed with the machine. Productivity is up but even more important is having a tall work area with a decent sized table so I can keep good posture while I work the machine. At 40 years old I can tell ya I can run this machine with no back pain, This is huge for me.

I by no means am saying the same couldn't be had with a hydro set up properly. I just couldn't find a hydro with a fast cycle, production table, etc for near the price.
I have also found a 4 way wedge stinks unless it's adjustable or you run the exact size rounds, this drove the price up even more on a hydro.

Let me be clear I am not trying to start a debate or say a Kinetic is right for everyone, but thus far it has been a great purchase for me.