Is the strato chainsaw good tech

• Total voters

CoreyB

Yep I am your neighborhood coffee man
Local time
12:55 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Strato chainsaws have been out for awhile. I have heard many parks and some down sides. But what is the truth.
Do they actually give you better fuel milage? Better power?

Do they run that much hotter?
Shorter life span?

My experience is limited to one saw and I find that it has great power and excellent fuel economy. The heat doesn'tseem much higher than other saws I have.
I have also seen an article where saws in the 45cc range where a cat, non strato gets just as good fuel economy and more power.
So what is the real story?

cus_deluxe

terms of service violator
Local time
1:55 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have limited experience as well, but it seems that there is a little extra weight, but often a better stock power band. My 575xp has all kinds of power over a wide rpm range. it had better, to make up for being a fat pig :cbiggrin2:

Chainsaw Jim

Con Artist LLC
Local time
10:55 AM
User ID
Reaction score
It seems like strato and x-torq give the saw the ability to keep the chain speed up while light load or self feed cutting. There doesn't feel like any advantage in the bottom end of the power band...not saying it is under powered.

MarkEagleUSA

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Is X-Torq Husqvarna's name for strato?

smokey7

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag