Stihl 038 Mag carb/air filter issues?

CrystalRiver1

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
1:19 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Picked up an 038 Mag a few months back, new fuel line, spark plug, seals replaced, yet it will only run- minus the air filter....ordered another filter---wrong filter!
Saw runs like a raped ape full throttle minus the filter---slam filter back on--and nothing!
Dug around and noticed that entrance from the carb to the saw has been slightly drilled larger (perhaps for more air induction) & the springs on the old air filter were not strong enough keep that choke flap open.

I'm still a novice at this, but help me out on some possible fixes here.
New Carb, Rebuild Carb, ....??? Is OEM filter the only option?

Thanks,
Reg

dall

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
2:19 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Choke may be getting sucked in when I needed a new filter I switched the oem flap and spring into the new filter

Moparmyway

Its just a saw
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
This is why the 038's have lost their popularity. I love my 038Mag, but I'd rather eat a bucket of spackle than run it. I can't stand the air filter and choke setup. When I get some time, I'ma gunna see about a carb swap or just run a V-stack with a green weenie air filter and just squirt some mix down the V-stack to get her started.

CrystalRiver1

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
This is why the 038's have lost their popularity. I love my 038Mag, but I'd rather eat a bucket of spackle than run it. I can't stand the air filter and choke setup. When I get some time, I'ma gunna see about a carb swap or just run a V-stack with a green weenie air filter and just squirt some mix down the V-stack to get her started.
I hear ya. But, I sell the @#$% out of them around my parts!
Are you running an OEM air filter on yours?
Carb swap sounds mighty appealing...:campeon:

67L36Driver

Here For The Long Haul!
Local time
User ID