Picking up an 084 for Milling

quietfly

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
4:35 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I'm looking at picking up an 084 for milling but have been discouraged by the feedback about lack of parts.
A call to the local Stihl dealer in town and he told me there are only a few things available but most things are not. He told me to check out Ebay, and craigslist. He also told me that if it were him he'd look for a newer saw with parts that are readily available.
I'd like to get a feel from the general forum what they think not about the saw, but more about the parts availability, and longevity of the saws.

thanks!
-Chris

jmssaws

Banneded
Local time
3:35 AM
User ID
Reaction score
394/5,parts are everywhere and it's not neer as heavy and will cut as good.

I love stihls but them 084/088 880 are not very impressive.

trooney

Admitted Woodaholic
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am new to the 084 as just having acquired it, but the dealer is right. Parts are available, but getting hard to find. The muffler alone can cost you a pretty penny if it is in good shape. Mine only cost me $650 which to my knowledge 084 don"t bring as much as 880's. It Isn't mint but it a nice solid good running saw. Cross just started making AM cylinders for it, and if you buy one whole you shouldn't need anymore than gaskets or seals. Cheaper than an 880 or a 3120. But maybe he's right, seeing as milling is harder on a saw than just felling and bucking. There are pros and cons to everything, tradeoffs, but I guess it comes down to if it will fill your needs or if you'd be more comfortable witha newer saw. Also them old saws were built like tanks. Maybe an old 088 would do it?

sefh3

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score